Intensity minutes - during an activity vs normal walk

Guys,

I'm new to a Fenix with HR. Used to have Fenix 3 util now.

When I walked for more than 10 minutes with Fenix 3 I would get the corresponding intensity minutes. When I walk with Fenix 6, I get nothing. But if I start "Walk" activity I get the minutes. Can you explain please? Do I miss some setting? Should not I get intensity minutes also for walks without starting an activity?

Thank you!

Best,

Marek

• While I still do not know why there is a difference between just walking (without starting an activity) and starting an activity (walk) in counting intensity minutes.. I just found that there are two ways intensity minutes can be counted. More specifically, how is the HR threshold, for when to start counting, determined. The setting is only available on-line (device settings ... activity tracking) as far I can tell .. and there are two options: (quote from the website)

Automatic: This is the default intensity minutes calculation used by Garmin. It’s derived by comparing your heart rate during activity to your average resting heart rate.

Heart Rate Zones: You can have greater control over how intensity minutes are calculated by adjusting which heart rate zones (1-5) are considered moderate or vigorous intensity. The moderate heart rate zones must be lower than the vigorous heart rate zones.

So I just changed the setting from "automatic" and set the moderate activity HR zone to 1.

Let's see ...

Marek

• Former Member
    0 Former Member over 4 years ago

this is from the users guide...

Intensity Minutes
    To improve your health, organizations such as the World Health Organization recommend at least 150 minutes per week of moderate intensity activity, such as brisk walking, or 75 minutes per week of vigorous intensity activity, such as running.