1st Dive

Went for the first few dives today with mk2i. Tank pod still hasn't arrived in Australia yet so just getting used to the watch. I've watched pretty much every video online about the watch several times as I'm new to garmin. Love the watch love the app and the detail for after the dive. 

I will just tell divers and new garmin dive watch uses, not to make the same mistake I did. The buttons we pressed by contact to my wetsuit and gloves because I was trying to dive keeping it on my wrist to measure HR. In the boat it started a RUN activity accidently, so when I got in the water it was still thinking i was running. The watch WON'T stop what ever you're doing even at 1.5m or below. I was 10m down before I realised. So just watch that. Other then that little hickup the watch was awesome and I'm extremely happy with it. Thanks garmin.

• Yes, I could start an apnea dive AND remember to set the pool mode every morning, otherwise I get the swim as an apnea dive in my log....

Why not just use the Pool Swim or Open Water Swim activities? That's what you are doing, aren't you?

• Since I simply copy 2-3 bits of into to a MS word log, it's more a fun curiosity for me.

I know it's fun to have but realistically other than a couple very unique dives how often do you go back and look. In my case the answer is never but that is just me.

Now pictures I look at all the time :)

• I thought I'd weigh in. I also had my first dive with the mk2i (also no receiver so I guess just an expensive mk2?). 

Dive wise - vis was about 5m, total depth was 10.7m, time was 50min and like Hulk was using analogue gauge (single gas, shore dive).

I found the display to be really easily readable. Normally I use a Suunto D6i - it was streets ahead in that regard (never used the D5 though).