D2 Charlie GPS Signal Airbus 320

I'm an A-320 pilot and thinking about buying the D2 Charlie. Can anybody verify if the GPS signal will be received? I was reading that it may not? Thank you.

Tony
  • Just stumbled across this thread. I recently received this watch as a gift and I've had very little luck receiving a GPS signal in the cockpit of the a320 as well. I've emailed Garmin support about it, but all they suggested was a reset. Just curious if there are any other updates about this issue?

I suspect that you talked to a Garmin Outdoors rep with a suggestion like that. Make sure you call the Aviation Support group as this is a known issue that results from the A320's heated window elements. I'm not an electrical engineer so I'm not sure why this is such an issue on the A320 when most airliners have heated windshields. In any case, I suspect you will be able to exchange or return the device. While this may not solve your issue, hopefully it will start putting pressure on Garmin to put more resources into solving the issue.

Cheers,
    Douglas
  • I can confirm that the D2 Bravo and the Charlie are a big disapointment in the cockpit. I can't get a GPS Signal with either of them. I tried it in various Bombardier types. We tried to put it closer to the windshields in different Locations, then tried the side Windows or other places in the cockpit. Also Captain and First Officer sides. Tried it for many hours and on many flights. No luck at any position or type of aircraft. Also as a passenger in various airliners is it impossible to get a GPS Signal. The only Way to make it work, is to pair it with your cell phone or IPad and get a Signal off there. Read somewhere that the US Airforce bought those for their pilots. I just hope that they won't rely on the GPS function ;-) or that they bought some ipads with them ;-)

I also called them and the suggested fix was a reset. Which obviously didn't do anything.