D2 Charlie GPS Signal Airbus 320

I'm an A-320 pilot and thinking about buying the D2 Charlie. Can anybody verify if the GPS signal will be received? I was reading that it may not? Thank you.

Tony
  • I'm not sure where you were reading that, but there are no issues that I know of with any of the D2 series watches receiving GPS signals within an aircraft. If you are a pax sitting in the C or D seats of the A320 then you probably won't get a fix but if you are flying the plane, you will be fine so long as there are enough GPS signals within the visible sky. I have the D2 Bravo and have no issues using the watch when I fly. And I am even able to receive a GPS signal from window seats on commercial service.

Cheers,
    Douglas
  • Douglas,

I saw it in this Youtube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0tUXky6OpA

It's mentioned at the 2:40 mark. He specifically says that you can't get a signal in an A-320 cockpit. He was reviewing the D2 Bravo, but I was wondering if it applied to the D2 Charlie as well? I'm not sure I believe it though, because I get a GPS signal to my iPad and company aviation software in the cockpit with no issues.

Tony
  • Ah, yes. I can't remember what the source of that comment is. Julien is not an A320 pilot and I can't remember who told him that feedback. I will email him today about it.