If you update with Garmin express, you don't lose the settings. If you update with GCM, it does an uninstall/reinstall, and you'll lose the settings.
It's been this way for a long time. So, to save the settings, the only solution is to use Garmin Express to update the apps. (it will be done automatically when you sync, by default.)