Side-loading a .prg file on Vivoactive4s through VS Code

Hello All

I appreciate people like you willing to help out people like me.  I am not a programmer, but have built a small app for use on my vivoactive4s using VS Code and a boat lad of google.  I have it functioning as intended on the Garmin SDK Simulator. 

My next step is to try it out on my watch.  It seems as though the Garmin sanctioned way to do so is through Eclipes, using the Connect IQ Plugin, which (the the best of my knowledge) no longer exists. 

Most of the suggested workarounds are to simply plug in and copy the .prg file into the apps/ folder as though it was a mass storage devise.  Sadly for me, the vivoactive 4s does NOT lend itself to that method.

So, my question is if anyone could help with some intermediate level directions on how to use VS Code to side-load my .prg file onto my watch so I can test out functionality before I take o the task of cleaning up code, structure, and stuff.

Again, I thank you very much for any insight y'all may have here.

Bob

Top Replies

All Replies

•  It seems as though the Garmin sanctioned way to do so is through Eclipes, using the Connect IQ Plugin, which (the the best of my knowledge) no longer exists. 

The documentation you've found mentioning Eclipse is out-of-date.

We document how to side load an app at the bottom of this page.

https://developer.garmin.com/connect-iq/connect-iq-basics/your-first-app/

Sadly for me, the vivoactive 4s does NOT lend itself to that method.

What exactly do you mean when you say it does not lend itself to this method? What happens when you plug the device in via USB?

Are you on a MacOS machine? If you're on MacOS, you'll need some additional software to be able to access the device filesystem.

• Devices which support music, such as Vivoactive 4S, use MTP and not mass storage.