Background widget

Hi,

I have some questions about background processing: I want to design a widget which collects data on a hourly basis. What happens to the background service if the widget is started by user? Will it start another background service which mewns I have to kill the previous?

What happens with the background service if its triggered but currently the widget ie displayed? Will it executed anyway?

• You can't use :symbols in data passed into Background.exit.Try to replace :batAtChargeUnplug with string key (like "b" or "batAtChargeUnplug").

Think as data is a JSON and symbol is not json-serializable.

• Wow, that worked. Thanks for that. Just some other questions:

- Is there a trick how to store data in the background process which stays there even when the main app pulls the data from the exit statement? I tested a bit and realized that the background service is completely initialized on the event. Furthermore (as Jim wrote already in the guiest post) a storage to the object store throws an error

- How can I test the widget's background process? If I end the widget with the up key and fire an event the simulator has completey unloaded the code...

• If I recall, there was some way to have the background run based on a temporal even even if the widget itself wasn't.  But when I did this widget: https://apps.garmin.com/en-US/apps/1af9fb3b-7f21-4f55-b4c3-0b946476a2ad, I found it easier to test on a device and use println calls and an app log file.  In that one, the newest internal temp (from SensorHistory) didn't change, which was another reason to test on a real device.

• Just another question to the background process:

What happens if someone has just installed the widget without calling it or someone has done a hard reset? Is the background process called again for itself?