Background widget

Hi,

I have some questions about background processing: I want to design a widget which collects data on a hourly basis. What happens to the background service if the widget is started by user? Will it start another background service which mewns I have to kill the previous?

What happens with the background service if its triggered but currently the widget ie displayed? Will it executed anyway?

• The way this works in when your app starts, you register a temporal event.  Say every hour.  Then ever hour, the background runs.

When it runs, it passes data byway of Background.exit().  Which is seen in onBackgroundData() in the app itself.

Here's a blog post to get you started: https://developer.garmin.com/index.php/blog/post/guest-post-creating-a-connect-iq-background-service

And a forum thread about backgrounding in general. (with an example WF.)

https://forums.garmin.com/developer/connect-iq/f/discussion/5287/very-simple-sample-of-a-watch-face-with-a-background-process

• If you take the sample WF in the thread I linked to and do little more than replace the view and make it a widget, you'll be able to see how this all works in the sim

The background process here is really simple - return a string with the time, and the view is really simple, as all it really does is display that string and the actual time

• Hi Jim, I read your guest post and your bgwf already. But the questions remain:

What happens to the background service if the widget is started by user? Will it start another background service (the main app is started anyway, kills the current service implicitly?) 

What happens with the background service if its triggered but currently the widget is displayed? Will it executed anyway?

Furthermore I want to collect data each full hour. Probably a simple 5*60 don't work, isn't it?