Background widget

Hi,

I have some questions about background processing: I want to design a widget which collects data on a hourly basis. What happens to the background service if the widget is started by user? Will it start another background service which mewns I have to kill the previous?

What happens with the background service if its triggered but currently the widget ie displayed? Will it executed anyway?

• More println calls to make sure things are happening when you expect (registering for the temporal event, etc.  getServiceDeligate should be called each time the background runs not just once.

• Hi Jim,

I traced the problem down, but I have no clue why this happens:

1. If I code this:  Background.registerForTemporalEvent(new Time.Duration(300));

thinkgs were fine. Everything is as expected.

2. If I code this:

var nag = Application.getApp().getProperty("naggingFrequency");
    Background.registerForTemporalEvent(new Time.Duration(nag));

the background process is initialiazied but the onTemporalEvent function is never called on an temporal event. Even if I cast nag with toNumber(). BTW, nag is configured to be 3600.

Do you have any hints?

• make sure that "nag" is a number. See the new developer FAQ for a long time issue with numbers in settings.

• Hi again,

I made a new project and setup only background, nothing else. But with this new project, background doesn't work either. If I send a temporal event, nothing happens in the service. Here is the project. 

www.dropbox.com/.../Weekly Steps Goal.zip

• Runs fine for me.

Here's the log of just letting it run and the background runs every 5 minutes:

Background: getServiceDelegate() is called
    Background: init background process
    Background: 79200
    Background: 28800
    Background: 49647
    getInitialView() of main app is called
    BG registered
    Background: 49647
    Background: on Temp Event
    onBackgroundData called
    Background: 49947
    onBackgroundData called