I just noticed that in the CIQ Store app (Android) the operation of saving/sending settings to an app appears to have changed Originally when the app came out, when you clicked save then the settings would close (like in GCM) and you would have to reopen the settings to see them again. But now when you click save the settings stay open, and instead the user has to back out themselves.
I'm wondering if this is an intentional and permanent change or not?
For most situations this functionality may be an improvement, as it allows you to send the settings multiple times in order to make adjustments to an app, without having to reopen the settings each time. Although it does mean an extra button press for the user if they only make one change to the settings.
But for apps which modify the values of settings themselves and use them to send data back to the user (e.g. as a string), this new functionality may not be as helpful as the original method where the settings automatically closed. When the user reopened the settings, then the data values sent by the app on the device would now be visible in the settings.
I've been working on a watchface where you can export the settings as a string in order to copy them to another device. But currently in the CIQ Store app if a user tries to initiate this, then it can be confusing as they look at the string property where they expect to see the exported settings, but instead they see nothing as the values have not been updated on their phone yet. If the settings displayed in the CIQ Store app were automatically updated to match the values that the watchface has set them to, then that would be really nice! What the user currently has to do to see the updated values is manually back out of the settings, and then reopen them again. (Just like you have to in the simulator, but unlike what you have to do in GCM).
I'll need to update the instructions on how to use my watchface settings - unless anyone knows if the current functionality is just temporary?