This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Edge 25 and Speed Sensor setup issues

Former Member
Former Member
what is the proper way to get the magnetless speed sensor to work correctly?
I installed the sensor, my Edge 25 detects it right way, but it doesnt seem to do anything. All the time while riding in the forest my speed will drop to 0.0, and my mileage is way off at the end. If I lift the front of my bike and spin the tire it doesnt display any speed numbers.

My buddy has a 520 with the same sensor and his works perfect. If he spins his front tire the speed shows up and at the end of a ride he might show "12.2 miles" where as my unit will show "6.6miles".

Any tips or suggestions? I'm new to all this not sure what is wrong. Do I need to ride in the streets for a bit so the unit can calibrate properly? I dont see an option on the Edge 25 to manually put in tire size like the 520 has.
  • Here you go. There are some long W-E segments on FM 1093 and long N-S segment on Bois D'Arc. I was helping a friend who was suffering, so I was doing nothing but sitting up front spinning and riding straight down the road so she could follow.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1010805482

Yep, SOSDD. Just tested it. Indoor mode, spin the wheel and it works fine. Turn indoor mode off and spin it, nothing.
  • Former Member
    0 Former Member over 8 years ago
    Here you go. There are some long W-E segments on FM 1093 and long N-S segment on Bois D'Arc. I was helping a friend who was suffering, so I was doing nothing but sitting up front spinning and riding straight down the road so she could follow.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1010805482

Yep, SOSDD. Just tested it. Indoor mode, spin the wheel and it works fine. Turn indoor mode off and spin it, nothing.