This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Edge 25 and Speed Sensor setup issues

Former Member
Former Member
what is the proper way to get the magnetless speed sensor to work correctly?
I installed the sensor, my Edge 25 detects it right way, but it doesnt seem to do anything. All the time while riding in the forest my speed will drop to 0.0, and my mileage is way off at the end. If I lift the front of my bike and spin the tire it doesnt display any speed numbers.

My buddy has a 520 with the same sensor and his works perfect. If he spins his front tire the speed shows up and at the end of a ride he might show "12.2 miles" where as my unit will show "6.6miles".

Any tips or suggestions? I'm new to all this not sure what is wrong. Do I need to ride in the streets for a bit so the unit can calibrate properly? I dont see an option on the Edge 25 to manually put in tire size like the 520 has.
  • Bontrager speed sensor

If I knew this would not have bought a combo speed sensor. Needs fixing now as any loss in signal seems to make the device fail. Come on , sort it out
  • 3.30 Pulled

OK I just called Garmin and they have told me that version 3.30 has been pulled from Garmin Express and version 3.00 is now the "Official" supported version being pushed out on Garmin Express.

I hope they finally get it right when they release the next version. Hopefully it will be version 4.00 which has a toggle for 1 second sampling or smart sampling. And the speed sensor working flawlessly!

Daniel
  • OK I just called Garmin and they have told me that version 3.30 has been pulled from Garmin Express and version 3.00 is now the "Official" supported version being pushed out on Garmin Express.