This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Is the Garmin Swim 2 the ideal swimming watch?

I mean, the model is obviously built for swimmers, but does it function properly? I've come across some bad viewpoints. I'm not a pro, but because I swim... Is it worthwhile to purchase this device rather than another Garmin model? Is it also capable of recognising different swimming styles?

• Just one clarification and I finish from my side:

I do NOT work for Garmin. I work for a telecommunication company, and I am just a Garmin user.

To reflect the counting problem. Yes, it is so simple, if you get the right information from the accelerometer. If it tells you EXACTLY that you turned (note, I do not know what kind of data classifies it as a turn), then its an easy, task, everyone who has basic knowledge can create a code of increasing by one. But if you get some crappy data (too slow turn, imbalace during the length, changing speed during length, etc.), the software should decide, if it is a turn, or just something different. If  the decision is "turn", the number is incremented. If otherwise, not. But the decision is earlier than the increment.

Remember, the watch has no eyes, ears, sensors on your head, trunk, legs, etc. It is only attached to your wrist, and has some accelerometers (I guess 3D measurements, but I do not know anything behind it). Thats a tiny bit of data compared to your senses when you are swimming. The watch does not see on which side you are. So the task is quite complex.

An additional side note:

As you are a breaststroker, the open water GPS measurement will NOT work for you! And this is a technological problem, that GPS signals do not travel in the water.

• "the open water GPS measurement will NOT work for you" :) A small, extra sensor for the swimmer's head! :) The price will be greater but something for something!