This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Is the Garmin Swim 2 the ideal swimming watch?

I mean, the model is obviously built for swimmers, but does it function properly? I've come across some bad viewpoints. I'm not a pro, but because I swim... Is it worthwhile to purchase this device rather than another Garmin model? Is it also capable of recognising different swimming styles?

• With breaststroke, after pushing away, I swim always and regularly about 8  - 10 meters under water with an additional push off under the water, I make correct turns - despite this, Swimm 2 does not recognize the style well and sometimes adds backstroke, sometimes all pools / intervals / recognize as backstroke, and I swim only with breaststroke! A technological failure of the Garmin brand in the Swimm 2!

• All gadget users should realize AND accept, that technology is not perfect. You can NOT generate a watch, what always records exactly what you did. Sometimes it misinterprets stroke style. And what is the problem?? If you swim ONLY breaststroke, you SHOULD be able to interpret the data correctly. I swim mostly freestyle, but many times I get some breaststroke readings, but actually I know what I did, so it does not confuses me. If I use different styles, the difference in the reading is enough to remember even months later what I did.

The same is with turn detection. Yes, it is annoying, that sometimes your distance is f*cked up. You can edit it later with swimmingwatchtools.com . Many times you do not feel when you made a change in your style, an acceleration, deceleration, extra arm movement because of balance issue, etc.