This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Edge 25 and Speed Sensor setup issues

Former Member
Former Member
what is the proper way to get the magnetless speed sensor to work correctly?
I installed the sensor, my Edge 25 detects it right way, but it doesnt seem to do anything. All the time while riding in the forest my speed will drop to 0.0, and my mileage is way off at the end. If I lift the front of my bike and spin the tire it doesnt display any speed numbers.

My buddy has a 520 with the same sensor and his works perfect. If he spins his front tire the speed shows up and at the end of a ride he might show "12.2 miles" where as my unit will show "6.6miles".

Any tips or suggestions? I'm new to all this not sure what is wrong. Do I need to ride in the streets for a bit so the unit can calibrate properly? I dont see an option on the Edge 25 to manually put in tire size like the 520 has.
  • Make sure you have the latest firmware. Connect the Edge 25 to your computer and launch Garmin Express (which you will need to install if you don't have it, and add your Edge to it). If there is a firmware update available GE will prompt you to install it.
  • Freeway

Make sure you have the latest firmware. Connect the Edge 25 to your computer and launch Garmin Express (which you will need to install if you don't have it, and add your Edge to it). If there is a firmware update available GE will prompt you to install it.

Agree with this recommendation. have you also checked the battery in the sensor? There is another thread where people recommend opening the battery area and wiping off some grease. That resolved issues for people on the edge 520 forum.
  • Same problem here. Firmware 3.0.0, changed the battery too but no speed is detected from sensor.
    Then I tried to switch off GPS for internal use and suddenly the sensor started working, correct speed was prompted.