What was the reason for not including maps on Enduro?

I am exactly the kind of user who Garmin is targeting with Enduro. Initially I was very intrigued by Enduro, yet I think Garmin has made a mistake by not including maps. Training for ultrarunning involves very long runs in remote areas on trails where navigation is an essential part of experience.

Without maps, by relying only on turn-by-turn directions, navigation is much less reliable. Turn-by-turn directions simply don't work on trails because there are often trail junctions at odd angles that aren't detected as turns. At the same time the watch produces a lot of useless turn notifications at every sharp bend of trail where there are no actual turns. Maps are pretty much required to see the course relative to other terrain features - other trails, creeks, lakes, summits, etc.

So I wonder what was the rationale for excluding maps?

• I am a sucker for new tech/toys but I can’t see any reason to upgrade or if it really is an upgrade over the Fenix 6x. You gain possibly 10-15 hrs of battery life during an activity but lose maps. With my Fenix 6x I can get up to 35-40 hrs during an ultra races which will be enough in 99.9% of activities many will endure.  I kinda like the new strap but it makes the watch look cheaper and can only imagine how smelly it will get wearing it all day on the trails in the sun. 

What in the Enduro do you see showing up in the future Fenix 7?  Is the battery that much greater or is it because they removed maps. 

• that is actually one of the beauties of this particular product. You don't have to buy it. 

• That is true. I hope to see many reviews and hope people enjoy the watch.  I am looking forward to see what Garmin comes out with in the Fenix 7.