Problem connecting wifi

Trying to connect my 66i to my home wifi.

It's WPA2 protected..when I go into the wifi network list on the 66i, I see the network but it lists "unsecured" below it.

If I click on it to connect, it just says "Connecting to "xxx" - Cancel" and stays like that until I do cancel.

What's happening, presumably the 66i should see my network is password protected, and ask me for a password before trying to connect?

• Your WiFi network is set up for WPA-PSK (personal) as opposed to WPA Enterprise? I have no experience with Enterprise authentication and the 66i.

Your WiFi network is broadcasting it's SSID? (I assume so since your post implies that the 66i can identify the network. Just asking to be thorough.)

You are attempting to connect to the network via Main menu > Setup > Wi-Fi > Add Network? You might try disabling and re-enabling WiFi there to see if it refreshes the information in the list on the Add Network screen.

If this is a new 66i, have you updated the firmware to the current release? If not, you should do so using Garmin Express.

Garmin Express also offers an option to set up WiFi on the device. This should not be necessary for minimal WiFi functionality. In particular, it is not required to connect to the network. However, there are some functions which do not work correctly unless you set it up this way. You might try setting it up this way to see if the PC detects the network correctly. (Although I'm not sure what will happen given that the network is already partially set up on the device.)

• Thanks for the reply.

My wifi is indeed set-up as WPA Personal and is broadcasting its SSID.

I tried to add the network "on device" as per your steps above...with no luck.

I've now tried adding it via Garmin Express too, now the network shows up in the known network list on device, but again, if I ask it to connect, it just hangs on the "connecting" dialog.