Battery life in CT10 sensors.

I have been using CT10 sensors paired with S42 watch for around 4 months and the batteries in half the sensors are dead already, they are meant to last up to 4 years.

Clearly this is an issue as replacement batteries are not cheap and I dont want to be replacing them every few months.

Has anyone else experienced this issue?

• The maximum possible battery life can last (up to) four years, Garmin is not stating that the sensors on average will last that long.

How long the battery will last before needing changed...is completely dependent on frequency of use during rounds of golf, how often the clubs are moved around while exposed to light, and the environment the clubs are being used/stored in (which falls into the standards of what affects battery performance for CR2032 coin cell batteries in general). 

The CR2032 coin cells have a maximum useful life of up to four years, and then the timeframe reduces from there once used, and depending on use. 

• @ Garmin-Cody 

Thanks for your reply. For information the sensors would have not been used a significant amount during the 4 months that I have owned them as I have played no more than 12 rounds of golf during that time,  some basic calculations would indicate that each sensor would have been used approximately 100 times during this period even allowing for practice swings. 

When the clubs are not in use they are stored indoors in my golf bag with the sensor down in a dark cupboard with no external light entering, which according to the specifications means the sensors would not be active. This environment does not expose the CR-2032 batteries to extremes of temperature that could adversely affect performance or working life. 

Therefore the battery life clearly does not meet the stated expectations even allowing for the factors that you mention that can degrade or shorten it.