Is there a way to wait for a asynchronous callback and continue with execution after callback is received?

Hi All,

I'm new to Garmin wearable development, so please forgive me possibly wierd question, but I have not found an answer anywhere - Though I was searching a lot.

Thanks for any reply in advance. (Read long story short in bold)

The issue:

I´m creating an app that needs to fetch some json data using makeWebRequest on background - specifically in onTemporalEvent.

Everything is basically working as expected - EXCEPT: 

In my onTemporalEvent Im making a web request which is processed successfully and returns valid data in its callback.

Under certain conditions I want to notify user that there is something new based on the fetched data so I want to call requestApplicationWake from makeWebRequest callback.

In a point of time the data arives and are processedonTemporalEvent is already out of scope (or callback function is not running in a scope of background at all) - therefore requestApplicationWake does not take effect.

if I call requestApplicationWake from onTemporalEvent directly - I will get a prompt. however calls of requestApplicationWake beyond onTemporalEvent lifetime (understand from webRequest callback) executes with NOP.

Is there a way to wait for a web request callback in onTemporalEvent or ensure requestApplicationWake is called within background context anyhow so that requestApplicationWake is sent within onTemporalEvent after web request data are received?

Any possible workaround?

Thanks,

Martin

*(I know the background task lifetime is 30s maximum and that only onTemporalEvent is guaranteed to execute, but not its child processes possibly)

• I believe what you're doing should work.  Are you seeing this on a device (which and what firmware) or in the sim (which target and which SDK)