Best way to programming this app?

Hi!

First of all, i am new in Eclipse and Monkey C programming language. But i have good background programming in C#.

I am currently working with a vivoactive 3 watch given up by Garmin to my PhD research. My aim is to progrmming an app which be able to get the watch sensor signals to externally processing it. Concretelly i need the accelerometre and the hearth rate signals. I have read the Garmin´s official website programmer guide to get some background on Monkey C. But i would like to ask about what will be the best way to get these signals and send it from the watch to an smartphone. I would like to run the app in background, so i would not need to programming a GUI.

Someone can help me on "where to begin":

I would like to know what is the best App Type for my project, if there exist some open source/example apps to get the signal and communicate the watch and finally how i can store data on the watch.

For example, i am having problems creating a .xml file on resources folder, to use JSON as in Garmins example. When i compile the code, i get errors.:

Garmin example:

<resources>
<jsonData id="jsonDictionary">{"key":"value", "3":"three", "three":3}</jsonData>
<jsonData id="jsonArray">[1,2,3,4,5,6]</jsonData>
<jsonData id="jsonMix">[1,{"1":"one"},["a","b","c"]]</jsonData>
<jsonData id="jsonPrimitive">5</jsonData>
<jsonData id="jsonFile" filename="data.json"/>
</resources>

Errors:

BUILD: ERROR: Problem validating a resource file: Premature end of file.
BUILD: com.garmin.monkeybrains.resourcecompiler.ResourceException: Problem validating a resource file: Premature end of file.
BUILD: at com.garmin.monkeybrains.resourcecompiler.DocumentParser.validateResourceFile(DocumentParser.java:285)
BUILD: at com.garmin.monkeybrains.resourcecompiler.DocumentParser.addJungleResources(DocumentParser.java:399)
BUILD: at com.garmin.monkeybrains.Project.addProjectResources(Project.java:163)