Background widget

Hi,

I have some questions about background processing: I want to design a widget which collects data on a hourly basis. What happens to the background service if the widget is started by user? Will it start another background service which mewns I have to kill the previous?

What happens with the background service if its triggered but currently the widget ie displayed? Will it executed anyway?

• Arrgggh, now it works. You were totally right.. Thanks for that. Just a couple of other questions: I want to start the background servce every full hour. Therefore I would use this code to do the Backgrounding:

var min = System.getClockTime().min;
           		if (min > 55) {
           			// save a value directly since next backgrounding is possible 
           			// in > 5 minutes only
         			Background.registerForTemporalEvent(new Time.Duration(120-min));
           		} else {
         			Background.registerForTemporalEvent(new Time.Duration(60-min));
           		}

If the widget is running during a full hour and a new background value is been pushed in, I have to call onBackgroundData(data) manually. Did I get this right?

And my third question: I would like to know the time and the battery status when the charger is pulled. Is this possible anyhow with backgrounding? I didn't found an event to detect this.

• Ok, one thing to consider here.  No matter how you schedule the temperal event, there's no guarantee it will run at that specific time.  Let's say you set the time for exactly xx:00, but start a CIQ device app 10 minutes before that and use it until 10 minutes after that.  Your background will run at xx:10.  So in your background process when it's ending, you'll want to set the temporal event for 50 minutes to run at xy:00, but again, it might not run right at that time....

And then there's the case where you're running a device app for two hours and may miss a whole hour.