This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Android for work apps notifications on watch

I recently installed Android for work apps on my Pixel 2 device. The android for work apps are not being offered in the smart notifications list in the Garmin Connect app. Is there a way to include the work segregated apps in the list so that I can receive notifications on my Forerunner 645?
  • 1. I am an IT professional myself, and this is definitely not the case.
    2. That's a pretty wild assumption, and doesn't explain why hangouts chat does not work.Unless they only did that for certain apps.

• 1. I am an IT professional myself

In that case I recommend you to read the Android security white paper, and learn how you can use the Device Policy Client, or Device Policy Manager to allow certain applications to send cross profile intents. And you can then set up your system so, that the applications you want to cross the boundaries, will be able doing so. 

• I have identical issue with WORK apps (to be specific, Gmail and Slack). I've just recently switched from Fitbit Blaze to Garmin watch, and this was the first thing I've noticed, that I can't get notification from Apps under "Work", which wasn't the case on Fitbit at all. I could choose between same apps Private and Work.
    Phone is exactly the same, "Work" Restrictions/Permission are as well.
    There is definitely smth that Garmin can tweak in order to accommodate this quite important feature. Because other watch manufacturers don't seem to have this issue. At least not the biggest ones. 

• I had the same problem from my pixel 2 with the samsung watch active 2. especially with my ogwhatsapp latest apk.
    how to fix it?

• as previously someone suggested this hotfix/hack: install the same app that you have on work on your personal profile, and it will work.

so far 24 hours passed, works as a charm.