This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

BaseCamp initialization - Cannot load the following areas: List data file

I've been using BaseCamp for many years and today for the first time I got a message after trying to open the app. I searched the forum and found no answer. I uninstalled and reinstalled the app but I keep getting this error. How can I get rid of this error?

• Strange, looks like the relevant file has been deleted. Does BaseCamp still open, and if so do you still see your data? 

• Your help is very much appreciated.

Basecamp does open. My route and waypoint data is not visible, with one exception, "Recovered Birdseye Data" is visible. (six satellite images that I downloaded years ago and don't need)

Fortunately I backed up my data 10 days ago, so I have not lost any data. I have attempted to use the "File->Restore" command. The restore process acts like it is working, but then the application automatically restarts and the same message "BaseCamp initialization - Cannot load the following areas: List data file" I click "Fix" and Basecamp opens and no data is visible, except the Birdseye images.

Ten days ago when I backed up my data, Basecamp was working fine, and this is the first time since then that I tried to use Basecamp. Do you think the File->Backup command might have caused this?

• I suggest you do a search for AllData.gdb, that will show you what databases you have on your PC. The important bit is that they should all be associated with a file named FolderData.gfi 

That file is the one that contains the list data. I suspect somehow BaseCamp is trying to access a database where that file is either missing or corrupted.

• FWIW, mine is in C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Garmin\BaseCamp\Database\4.7.

Keep in mind that you can specify an alternate location in Basecamp options.  Mine is set toe "Default" which resulted in this location.