What is "Cancel workout"?

I know the answer seems self explanatory but bear with me. I went into settings today by holding down the middle button and the first option is "cancel workout".

I'm not in the middle of any workout at the moment, the only thing I can think of is I created a manual intervals workout recently and ran it, but in the generated context of things the phrase "cancel workout" isn't making any sense.