This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Extracting "precise" Vo2Max from fit file

[This is a repost of something I posted on Reddit a few minutes ago but I think some of my fellow 945 owners might be interested in]

Hello,

I'm a software developer and stat geek. One of my frustrations when it comes to GarminConnect UI is that you cannot get a precise value of your estimated Vo2Max - it's always a round number. I wanted to have precise values to see trends better (especially since I've been stuck in the 54-56 range for months...) so I wrote a little program that extracts data from the Fit files and renders them in a webpage.

I though I would share it with you guys so I published the source code : https://github.com/bleenhou/fitparser/releases

To use it, just copy the fit files of your activities in a folder, run the program and select the folder in which you just copied the files. (You cannot point the program directly to the watch storage...)

Quick notes : 1/ It's written in Java so you need Java installed on your system to run it. 2/ It can be downloaded at the link above, but if you want to recompile it, you will need the thisisant java fit SDK jar. 3/ It's only parsing Running Fit files, not the rest (Strengh, Bike, etc...)

I tested it with chrome but I think the code is simple enough that it will work with any browser.

Top Replies

All Replies

• Former Member
    0 Former Member over 3 years ago

hi,

thank you for the info Slight smile

some values to look for ... Training Effect's, Exercise(Training) Load, Recovery HR, Recovery Time, .... Thumbsup

update :

same metmax also in message id 140(8c) in field id's 27(1b), 28(1c) and 29(1d)

happy & safe sporting

• Note also that you can get this from Runalyze if you sync your data.

• Really nice job on this, thank you for sharing your work!