This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Sleep tracking

Hello all, I'm new to the Garmin family (coming from Fitbit and then Apple Watch) and while I love my 945 for most everything the sleep tracking piece seems to be absolute junk.  I have searched the forum and while there has been a little discussion, mostly supporting my assessment, but curious if anyone knows if Garmin has made any comments about improvements in the future or if there is a place we can go to tell Garmin of features and enhancements we would like them to consider.  By far, my former Fitbit was the very best of the bunch and the data seemed quite accurate. The Apple Watch didn't track sleep natively and required the use of 3rd party apps, which I didn't like so I took to sleeping with my Fitbit at night. Was hoping to get away from that habit when I moved to Garmin, but alas I think I'll go back to sleeping with the Fitbit as the Garmin tracking seems so poor.   Anyone else have a workaround or suggestions for improving the Garmin's tracking abilities?  I've tried adjusting how tight/where I wear it on my arm but see no improvements.  Just looking for your experiences.

• I'm also fairly new to the Garmin ecosystem. When it comes to sleep analysis, there is only so much that technology that is worn on your wrist can do for you. They can use accelerometer, hr data, hrv data, pulse ox in the 945, but unfortunately, when it comes to sleep tracking, it's all about brainwaves. No matter what Garmin and or FirstBeat claims, there is no direct relationship between above and brain waves. There is a huge difficulty in determining between REM and deep sleep for example, or laying in the bed, but not sleeping and REM sleep etc. The best you can hope for is consistency between measurements and trends that is relevant to you.