This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Vivoactive 4 buy now or wait for Vivoactive 5?

Hi,

I have sold my Samsung Galaxy watch 3 solely due to the battery life. I'm planning to go for a Garmin Vivoactive 4. Was planning on one of the Fenix Series but dropped it due to budget limitations. 

Should I wait for the Vivoactive 5 or go with the 4 now ? Im not a pro athlete but mainly track my gym activities and sleep. Also need god battery life and a big dial as I am big :) any other options suggested ?

Thanks

Sunny

• I recently got a Vivoactive 4 as an change to my Fitbit Charge 4 and I am really happy with it. It does everything I want from a device - good GPS tracking although why you can’t pause a workout is beyond me, Garmin pay which works well and so on. Yes the sleep tracking is a bit ordinary (Fitbit have that nailed) and I am sure it can be improved with a better algorithm but it isn’t a dealbreaker for me - it is apparently better than the Apple Watch though. 

The Charge 4 has numerous problems so I wouldn’t recommend buying that.

I do have one question though - in a earlier post someone mentioned the algorithms were better on the higher end devices, does that mean the sleep tracking is better or what is actually better? I might consider a higher end Garmin down the track but need convincing to spend the dollars. 

• Don't buy a vivoactive. Sleeptracking just doesn't work. I got my step goal while sitting on the toilet today or driving. Stairs counter is way of. OX sensor is very inaccurate, not to say useless. After 2 years, the software isn't even finished. And if you're lucky your bug gets fixed after 4 months while hoping the new bugs introduced won't affect you.

Judging by the va3 and va4, the va5 won't be any different. If you want cheap, buy a Xiaomi miband, those thing are amazingly accurate and is 5x cheaper.