This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Beta 5.46 appears to have fixed the CIQ battery issue

I have stayed at 5.00 and went to 5.46 yesterday. After my first night with it using the same CIQ face I have used for months my battery loss was about the same as 5.00. 

• Great to hear!

I wrote a comment to https://forums.garmin.com/developer/connect-iq/i/bug-reports/battery-drain-issues-on-va4-and-4s-using-ciq-watch-faces-since-sw-5-10-release about the fact that SW 5.46 might fix the issue. I am not home during the weekend but can't wait to try the new beta early next week.

Anyway, let's not forget that we were asked twice to contact CIQ face developers about battery drains using CIQ watch faces from SW 5.10 onwards... It sucks to get this sort of support but I think the CIQ bug report helped (it is the 2nd most voted bug after all).

Cheers!

• Wait. I am a bit new to the update cycles. Why is there a 5.21 beta, stalled 5.30, and now a 5.46 without finishing previous versions?

• Well I guess that if you further modify an existing version, it has to have a higher number, because it is not the original version anymore.

• I can confirm as well. I put my favorite watch face SC8 back on yesterday. It is fairly data heavy, and battery drain seems back to normal. Garmin wanted to replace my watch too. I'm glad I didn't accept.

• There are internal versions of FW that never go public.

With FW versions, if they end in 0, they a production FW, if not 0, they are beta and need to be installed manually.

• I wonder if they will provide anything more than just these fixes as part of the public release following this beta, because, apart from the battery issue fix, it must be one of their most uninspiring releases ever.