This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

RTL 510 / 515 connected with fenix 6X --- about (no) light mode control

Former Member
Former Member

hi all,

I've been using RTL 510 for almost 2 years now.

setup RTL 510 --- connected with Fenix (5X+) 6X on the handlebar.

fenix watch series seems that cannot deal with both - Light and Radar sensor at the same time

the two sensors appear when you try to connect new sensors.

so basically you have two choices:

• add both Sensors (Light first)
  • add only Radar

if you do not add both sensors separately to Sensors, RTL will enter every time at power off/on (long press button)  in pairing mode (purple led flashing) - easy to overcome, a push on the button will return in normal operating - but is a sign RTL miss something.

if you add firstly as Light 

• you have the menu for Individual/Auto and can choose the Light mode Individual/Auto
  • on Individual you can set Taillight in the three modes

you add now Radar

• Light sensor (and menu) disappears
  • (but if you want to delete Radar you have to do it twice so somehow Light "anchor" remains there)
  • watch controls both Light and Radar 
    • when the activity starts, the RTL light starts and radar connects automatically
    • when you end the activity, Light off, radar off
    • you can use the Radar with the light off (circling the light mode from button short push)
  • I start now a bike/MTB activity 
    • the mode light RTL starts is the mode that was (set in Light sensor previously or changed by button) at the moment you paired the Radar - let's call it default light mode
  • Radar connected, I start the activity and I change the Light mode from the button
    • after a while, the light mode is back to de default one.