This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Varia RTL511 messes up distance on Edge 510

I've been using my Edge 510 for many years, and on my current bike I have used three devices connected to it (heart rate strap, power meter and speed sensor on the rear hub). This has worked flawlessly, except that the Edge 510 needs to be reformatted once in a while (I think it just corrupts the file system).

For the last handful of rides, I also added a Varia RTL511 to the mix, and it has worked quite well, however something very odd is happening:

After the radar was added, the Edge consistently under-reports the distance. And it's quite bad, for one of my standard routes that is around 48 km long, the Edge reports just 46 km with the radar attached. If I upload to Strava, I have to click the button to have them re-calculate the distance, or else my stats are messed up (average speed, for instance).

Has anyone heard of this before? Could the radar be messing with the speed sensor somehow? I haven't yet tried moving the speed sensor to the front wheel, but I will do that.

• Can you post the FIT activity file for this ride?

• I would venture to guess that something else changed ... the radar should NOT effect distance calculations at all.

Additionally, you should *NEVER* have to 'reformat' an Edge unit. I've had them for years and haven't ever had to do that.  I suspect something else is happening for both the problems you are describing.

• I'm not sure I want to post the file publicly, but I can send it to you on your email if you want to take a look. Is your email still the same (the mindspring address)?