This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Varia 510 vs. the older model

Ive been using the original Varia Radar for a couple of years, and I’m always amazed at how accurate it is. It never misses a car coming up behind me, and rarely gives a false alarm. I’m usually the first in the line to call “Car back!”, even if I’m up front - and I always get it right.

When I saw the Varia 510, I really like the new form factor, and ordered it - assuming the radar performance would be at least as good as the old model. I used it for the first time this weekend, on a ride with a few friends, and it’s not the same product at all. Yes, it always picks up cars approaching from behind, but for every useful alarm, I get several false alarms. I stopped a few times to play with the mount, thinking maybe with the longer body, I had it mounted too low and it was seeing my rear wheel. No change in position made a difference. Sure, I could just always hug the edge of the road, since some of the alarms are really cars, but I ride on country roads, and prefer to enjoy my side of the road - until I have to tuck in for a car to pass. And no way I’d call “Car back!” to others, based on the 510’s alerts.

So a couple of 90 degree twists, and the old unit is back on my main bike. I’m hoping to see a firmware update soon. No way the hardware could be so inferior to its predecessor. It had to be software. I have no complaint with the old model, but I was looking forward to the sleek new shape and the brighter light. The light on the new 510 is great!

Peter