This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Accuracy issue (resloping?)

Hello,
Is there a way to reslope Garmin Rally? I've been using them for about 9 months (2 sided). LR balance is really bad. My partner tested them and got the same issue, so it is very unlikely to be my legs fault. I get about 58L-42R to 57L-43R on an average ride. She got 55L-45R. We both have dominant... right legs. Since these are in fact 2 independent power meters, it seems there is serious accuracy issues that would need resloping. Thanks!

• If you are having suspected accuracy issues, then first ensure that the pedals are tight in the cranks. The recommended torque range is 25 to 30 foot-pounds (34 to 40 N-m). Secondly, it helps to do your manual zero calibration(s) when the system is not in the middle of a temperature transient - if the pedals and bike have been in a consistent temperature environment for 15 minutes then you should be fine.

If you think that your pedals are not measuring accurately, you can perform the hanging weight torque test as described in this link:

https://support.garmin.com/en-US/?faq=AVZeQisZvi3oBYZUUZdPV6

Then you can program corresponding scale factors into the pedals using an Edge, or through Garmin Connect Mobile on your phone.

• Good morning,

Thank you for your quick answer. To be honest, I didn't expect to have to buy weights and do this kind of manual calibration on pedals that are this expensive. How come sloping is not done in the factory?

Thank you

• The pedals are calibrated and tested to 1% slope accuracy at the factory over the full spindle rotation.

Most of the time, power measurement errors on Rally pedals end up being due to incorrect zero offset, which is why I suggested to look at that side of things as well.