This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Jumpy power (and still, speed)

I know, Power is not the cleanest. data. But when I ride up a hill with a consistent RPM and power jumps up and down (even 10s average), I wonder if everything is ok. Im new to riding with pwoermeter. Also: Is the Power Zone data field averaged somehow?

May someone take a look at the following activity if the data is in line with something to expect:

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/4954925136

And I still see jumps in speed when for example crossing the rivers on bridges. It jumps from 30 to 10 km/h and back. But for that, I will change the speed sensor onto the front wheel to check if its dropouts.

• I thought I read in the 830 user manual that it always uses 1sec recording if you have a power meter attached, regardless of the smart setting.  See page 18:

• Thank You , i already knew it since 2013... 

"I dont like" meaning i dont understand why has such a feature (smart recording) a device like 830 which has 8 or 16gb memory (i dont know exactly the size of storage), it was ok in year 2013 when a 510 has 16mbyte storage but since 2015-16 it is a pointless feauture, and for example on Strava the smart records have usually fake time results due to the longer time gaps between 2 GPS points. 

It must works flawlessly with 1sec recording, there are enough resources just the coder team at Garmin has poor knowledge to eliminate these issue (or they are too lazy). Honestly i was getting tired to report all bugs in the past, i'm using older devices and i dont wanna buy newer Garmins due to its  poor software, unfortunately there is no other big contender on the market (i hope a few Chinese giants will enter soon) and they(Garmin) dont need to hurry to fix their products, they are in leader position (now)

• Thanks a lot. My conclusions:

1. I only have to get used to powermeter usage.