This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Type of tour

Hi!
Im new to the Edge Series, I was always using Fenix and Forerunner watches before.
If I did a bike ride, it was labeled as "Radfahren" (bike ride) like the higher category. On the edge, I have to choose between the ride types:
"Road" "Commuting" "Mountain" "Gravel" "Cyclocross" "Indoor" "eBike" "eMountain". None of this fits to my bike or my rides.
I would prefer to get the old label or, to say it better, the higher category. It even doesn't mirror the labels in Garmin Connect online.

• I don't understand either. Why not have normal cycling? 

• Each profile has different settings which are relevant to the names they are given.  "Indoor" has the GPS off.  "Road" will navigate via roads instead of off road trails. "Mountain" will have the mountain bike specific features turned on.

You are free to get rid of the profiles the unit comes with and you are free to create new profiles.  Just create a new profile called "Bike Ride" if that is what you want to choose.

• Yep.  The labels on Garmin Connect are just labels.  The activity profiles on the Edge define how the edge is configured and it behaves for those activities.

You're free to create your own profiles, delete existing profiles, and copy/edit/rename any existing profiles.  The simplest thing to do is identify an existing profile that's closest to what you want, copy it, name it, and edit the copy (data screens, number and type of data fields, routing preferences, maps, automatic features, etc...) to be exactly what you want, then, if you want, delete the original.  All of the profiles on my Edge are ones I created/edited to be exactly what I want for the different types of riding I do.