Who already has the E1050 and what are the impressions?

Users of the new E1050, share your impressions - is the new Edge a big qualitative leap compared to the previous E1040 model and is it worth investing a few hundred on new hardware after changes to the firmware (23/09Beta) and adding a few functionalities?

• Thank you for that insight! Would you say that an upgrade from a 1030 Plus to a 1050 is worth it than (future proof) or should I go for a 1040 instead?

• That is always the question. The 1050 is certainly more future proof as it comes with more memory (unless you are going for the solar version of the 1040) and has a more powerful CPU. I am a tech nerd and always looking to upgrade technology. But for me the 1050 performend overall not a bit better than my 1040. Yes, menus are a bit more sluggish than on the 1050 but far away from being a problem. The display on the 1050 is certainly much better. But again. There is nothing wrong (for me) with the Display of the 1040. Even in bright sunlight it is bright enough. Note that depending on your Garmin mount (integrated cockpit?) you may have to replace that as the 1050 may not fit. I was a bit disappointed that the thing got even bigger and heavier, not smaller (or at least same size).

• I upgraded to 1050 from a 1040 Solar. Massive upgrade, as far as I am concerned. The UI is far snappier, both in terms of menus and while in an activity. The screen is also a significant improvement, as is the improved speaker. 

• Well, I'm a tech nerd too in that way thats why I'm hesitating. I do see that there will be no updates anymore for my 1030Plus but still usable.

The mount won't be an issue, but it's good that you mentioned it