This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Is my 1030 Plus Defective?

Hello everyone.  I am very new to MTB. I've ridden a total of 20 miles since i bought my high tower a year ago.  I purchased an edge 1030 plus as a means to leaving my phone in my car when Im riding.  I bought it a couple of months ago, but yesterday was the first time I got to use it.

I was sitting at a trail head, and the map showed my position accurately.  I selected the loop I wanted to ride since it has many more trails that cross it.   I pressed navigate and it froze at 67% and gave me a calculation error.  I thought, maybe it wants a route or destination since it doesn't know where I want to go, so I went back to the map and set 4 way points on the same loop.  Started the navigation, and it still failed the calculation.  I gave up and rode, and when I got to the furthest point on the trail, I tried to navigate back to the start, parking lot, other trails, etc.  All attempts ended with "Route calculation error" .

Im a 25 hour pilot in training and have never been let down by garmin, but I feel  like this was a giant waste of $660. 

Side note, not related to the problem.,  I'm also fairly  annoyed that I cant connect the bluetooth to my LTE watch and get call/text notifications from my watch instead of my phone, and also send position update to the net, and if needed emergency contact.  the whole point was to leave my $1500 smart phone off the trail.   And Garmin, not working with samsung devices, does exactly the opposite of pushing me towards your product line.  I could understand not running connect on a watch, but call, text, cellular connection should be able to come from any device that can provide it via bluetooth.

• All attempts ended with "Route calculation error" .

Might be a map error.