This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Any major issues with Garmin's new magnet less speed/cadence sensors?

I just ordered a set of magnet less speed/cadence sensors to mount on my bike and use with my Garmin 800.

Have any of you experienced any major issues (or any issues) with the new sensors?

Let me know what your experiences have been.

Thank you.
  • Yes they are. They new sensors use a longer ANT+ ID so the ID will not show on the Edge 500 interface, but they will pair and operate with the 500.
  • They new sensors use a longer ANT+ ID so the ID will not show on the Edge 500 interface, but they will pair and operate with the 500.

Are you sure about that?

I'm not an expert in ANT+, but it seems to me that all ANT+ devices would need to have an ID in order to communicate properly. My guess is that the speed & cadence sensors would have their own ANT+ ID.

It may not DISPLAY on the Edge 500 ... but they probably do have an ID.

david
  • The ID is stored on the Edge 500 it is just too long for the ID to be displayed.
  • Doh!

I read "use a longer" as "no longer".

My brain is mush today.
  • UPDATE REPORT: I have been using the new magnetless speed and cadence sensors with the Garmin 800. Performance has been flawless. These sensors work better and are possibly more accurate than the old sensors.

My only concern still remains regarding the longevity of the rubber band used to hold the speed sensor to the rear hub.

Time will tell.

Cheers!
  • I concur with 1BOTTECCHIA6... I've had zero problems with the new sensors and they are much more accurate than the GSC10 (no more cadence spikes due to my pedal hovering over the sensor).

I only wish they did BTLE as well as ANT+.