Just looking for outside perspective as Tactix 7 user with tattoos

Former Member
Former Member

Full disclosure here, not blaming the watch/technology. Just looking for unbiased opinions, right now I am obviously grabbing any excuse to justify/keep the watch. 

Context:

I have to position the watch on a certain spot between some ink that has clear skin. Most of the day I seem to be fine. However, it is those times when I find myself throwing laundry in and out of washer/dryer and other acts that can (not always) reposition the watch I will notice the HR sensor lose connection. For exercising I use a Polar H10 so not too concerned there. Also, I noticed if I am doing anything like raking my lawn, or just in and out of my shed moving *** around, I can find that it repositioned and lost the HR. I am an engineer so I spent a lot of my time in my office with my ass planted on a seat outside of my workout schedule, so most of the time all this is a non issue. It is the weekends or evenings when I flip the switch with work and start doing those things around the house I will need to keep an eye on the watch. Seriously considering laser treatment on a small area of my wrist.

Would a little aggravation a couple times a day at times and a quick re-adjustment be a non-issue to you? 

• I have no issue where my watch sits, but if it were ninety degrees it’d be totally unreadable.. Your situation would drive me nuts, I fear, as a bit of a neurotic type. However, until bio implants are more available for daily use, I think having gaps in ink for sensors is cyberpunk as it gets and I love it. I’d fully design around that idea if getting more done.

• I know your frustration, I have tattoo slieves on both arms, Colour on the Right and black on the Left. I have found it across all optical heart rate monitor watches. (Ive got a Garmin Fenix 5X, 6X, 7X, AW7, Samsung Gear 2 and my Polar in the past did it too. Its definately the tattoos )