Cycling profiles

Hi all, I'm new to the Garmin sphere, and have several questions since I bought my new 7s Solar Sapphire. I have a few observances and questions, some of which probably stem from unfamiliarity.

First, I've had a couple issues that I've seen reported on these forums already.

• My 7sSS did not come preloaded with all the world maps, only my region (Europe). Not a big deal since I can download what I need, just more of a minor annoyance. Though I noticed that there is a "CourseView Europe", a "TopoActive Europe" and a "TopoActive RDA Europe". What are the differences, both in internal information and use?
  • Been having some major issues with swimming. Most of the time it works flawlessly, but every now and then it doesn't work at all. No distance, no HR. On those days, it's just a glorified timer. I hope they're working on getting that fixed.

Some other questions I haven't been able to find answers on:

• I noticed that between the time I originally set up the device and now, some cycling activity types have been added. Instead of just "Ride", there is now "Road Bike", "Bike Commute", and "eBike". This is great, but I wonder what the differences are between the profiles? I ride an e-cargo bike around town, so either ebike or bike commute could work for that, but without having more info, I don't know which is appropriate.
  • With regards to the previous question, is there a way to set a default gear (bike) for the different activities? In GC, under "Gear", I only see the option to Automatically Add To... Cycling. There 10 different cycling activities, not to mention Triathlon, Other, or custom profiles too.. There's no way anyone would use their road bike for mountain biking, so why limit our ability to set default gear?