quatix 7 Sapphire vs. Epix 2

Hi,

Thinking about buying Epix 2, but have just seen the newly released Quatix 7. It seems that the Sapphire Edition is basically the same as Epix 2, with the different aesthetics, and couple of extra features not available on Epix. I don't need the extra features (ehm, tides chart on the built-in watch face sounds good, actually), but I like the aesthetics.

https://www.garmin.com/en-US/p/818324

The question is: does Epix 2 have something Quatix 7 doesn't have? Would I loose anything by choosing the Quatix over Epix, for the same price?

Thanks!

• Isn't that regatta related? 

www8.garmin.com/.../GUID-41507EC5-4E2F-43AA-A60A-F57BF1D81A9F.html

I have zero boating / maritime knowledge, though, so I don't really know what I'm looking at. Smiley

• The boat features are default Favourites and built-in but you can easily delete then so you never see them using 'Remove from Favourires' then 'Remove from List' so you end up with something that from a user interface perspective is identical to an Epix

These are in Favourites by default:

• Just tried it on my Epix (Epix manual even has the same detail now). 

Its basically a visual timer, with each minute a segment. So max is 10 minute (which isn't ideal as sometimes have a 15 minute gun) - but do like the beep that counts off each minuteand its pretty easy to see the visual aspect, but do like the big numbers too. And as its one page of all the tracking pages, really nice.

Haven't had much of a play with it, but the initial starter is pretty sweet - sort of makes me want to get back out on the water to try it out..

Love the idea of being able to ping and set the start line - have had start lines that are over a mile (nautical) long and where its been impossible to see the end marker (when not using another boat) making it very difficult to judge whether over the line or not - so being able to pin each end and then have GPS track you against it is amazing.