Realistic life cycle - How long will it last?

I would like to know what users see as a realistic life cycle for the 5x or even the plus? How many years can one squeeze out of this?

I am just starting out with a 5x and hoping I can combine two gadgets into one. I wear an activity tracker. I have carried a hand held GPS for ages. The 60CS has lasted over 10 years of occasional use and is now so dated I can’t update the maps.

Given the battery is recharable I assume eventually it will wear out in the 5. Possibly replaceable by Garmin at some sort of high price point.

Warranty related threads seem hit and miss as to results. Some get good results others get used scratched up watches if can’t be fixed under warranty.

Is it realistic to think I will get 4 plus years out of this watch and still be able to enjoy the back country without the worry of getting lost.
  • Perhaps would be a good idea to consider upgrading!

My only experiences with smart watch tech has been Fitbit. And it’s a mixed bag. I like the product but don’t like that it has a very big flaw and is not addressed just replaced while under warranty. 4 bands have broken and two watch cores. I am the easiest person on equipment.

• I think you'll get four years out of it. I have had mine a year an a half so far and its still going strong. Touch wood I haven't seen the sensor cracking issue so hopefully I won't. I'll look at the 6 when it comes out but if its not a decent step forward I'll stick with this one. Does what I want it to do - not perfectly but good enough, battery is more than enough for what I do - and even as it ages it should still be more than enough, just might need charging a little more often. As to getting lost - don't think that is covered under any guarantee :-)
  • The battery is not replaceable.