Using the dive planner (new user)

Hi. I am new to the Descent MK1 (and diving in general), and have a basic question. I’m trying to figure out the dive planner. It seems that it computes NDL, assuming you’ll max out your dive? Ie., you enter depth and it tells you maximum minutes or you enter minutes and it tells you max depth, both of which get you to the NDL threshold? I’m trying to figure out how I would plan a dive that falls under the NDL for the dive, and then factor the residual nitrogen into the next dive, similar to how it would be done using the RDP tables. Maybe I’m thinking about it wrong. Can anybody give me some insight on this?

Thanks,
Mark

• I don't have a huge issue with the NDL for the first dive.  As you say, this is most likely the conservatism. The problem I see is the NDL is not dropping enough on the subsequent dive.  It can't just be the conservatism.

Basically what the dive planner is saying is that if you stay right to your NDL and then ascend with a safety stop, after a 15 minute surface interval you have very little residual nitrogen.  With a 1 hour surface interval it is suggesting you have no residual nitrogen as the NDL for the second dive is the same as the first.

Further, if the Mk1 is more conservative than the tables (and it mostly likely is), you shouldn't be able to do two 30 metre dives with a 15 minute surface interval and still end up on the cusp of NDL on the second dive with both the table and the Mk1.

Interestingly, I just tried the dive planer on my Perdix for the first time.  Same algorithm same conservatism and it tells me NDL for 30m is 14 minutes (not 12).  Unfortunately, it only does one dive so I can't check what happens on the second dive.  One thing it does have that the Mk1 doesn't have, is you enter when you will be diving - i.e. it takes your current residual nitrogen into account and any surface interval between now and when you dive.