This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Creating routes in Explore from recorded activities

Hi,
I'm new to Explore, so these are probably really basic questions.

What's the easiest way to create a route in Explore based on a hike recorded on my Fenix 5+ ?
From what I understand, routes in Connect and routes in Explore are different things and not linked to each other? Or will routes created in Connect also show up in Explore?

I want only the GPS route/trace without any other activity data in my Explore library.
I managed to do this by exporting the gpx-file from an activity on the Connect website and import it back in on the Explore website. Then it synced flawlessly with my watch and I was able to start a Hike with navigation based on the newly created route(s).
However - is there a more efficient/direct way of doing this - either from the watch itself or in the GCM app?
Also - should I use traces instead of routes? What's the pros/cons of either?
  • Hello SAHO,

Jessica from the Explore app team here.

Connect features are optimized around fitness, and the Explore features are optimized around outdoor adventure. Currently the data structures are not compatible. When you convert/import/export GPS lines sometimes the points are thinned, so always check the item to see it is what you need afterward.

The easiest way is using the Explore app:
    - Select the activity in the Explore app library to look at the activity. Below the map and above the other info, you will see a little button that looks like two footprints. This will copy the activity as a track in your library. The fenix treats tracks or routes the same way. (There are more conversion options on Explore.garmin.com if you really want a route. In the library look for a button on the item that looks like arrows going right and left).