Used watch data merged with mine

Former Member
Former Member

Hi all,

I recently purchased a used Forerunner 965 watch from ebay.  Great watch.  Problem I've noticed is that the guy who sold it reset it to factory defaults but didn't remove the previous data.  I've had a garmin watch before so have my own data.  As soon as I connected the device though it sync'ed his data with my data, merging the 2 together.  I've removed all his activities which was very painful but cannot find a way to remove his other history e.g. sleeping, stress, heart rate etc.  I don't want to delete my Garmin account but that seems like the only way to completely clear this.  Problem I have is if I delete my account I will need another email address for a new one.  What a mess!!!! Any ideas on how to solve this?

  • It won't help you now, but the next time you buy a 2nd hand watch, resetting it to factory defaults, is the first thing you what you have to do with it, just like with any other 2nd hand electronic device (phone, tablet, computer, etc). If you did not do it, be sure to do it now, even if you already changed settings and added some customization, otherwise it will take long time to wash out diverse baselines established for the previous owner.

    Otherwise, the watch keeps only very limited amount of daily stats such as sleeping, stress, etc - this data is cleared from the watch anytime it is synced to Garmin Connect. Only activities are kept for longer time. The daily data remains on the watch only if the previous owner never synced it. So if you have just a few hours or days that synced from the old device to your account, simply ignore it. After a few days, it won't have any impact on your current metrics.

    Deleting daily data was originally possible in Garmin Connect, but that function is not available since a few years, so either just live with it, or try contacting the Support and ask them to delete the data for you.