This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Why is Garmin Express using 20% of my GPU?

I was wondering why my PC was so sluggish.  So I took a look at Task Manager to see what was sucking up the processor so much.      It shows me Garmin Express is sucking up almost 20% of my GPU, not to mention 5% of CPU  For the image below it dropped to 17.5 but usually it's around 19%.  Even though it's doing nothing.  Even though no devices are connected.  It just sits there at 19%, using more than all the rest of WIndows combined.

Any idea why it needs to suck up so much GPU consistently?  

• Well for starters because Garmin Express runs automatically on many people's computers.  and if I fire it up manually I don't want to have to remember to shut it down just to prevent it from needlessly wasting CPU time.

I have been writing software for a living for decades.  If the software I write continually used up that much CPU, I would not have job for long.  And my software isn't even used by hundreds of thousands of people like garmin's is

• Right, had you read the problem description within the thread with a bit more comprehension you would have spotted two things:

1. It's not hogging on CPU resources, but GPU - hardly noticeable by those who do not open Task Manager

2. More importantly, it only does so when device window is specifically open within GE. It's exactly 0% when GE is run in background, or when it's open and showing the main screen.

So although it's not great - and I wrote about it above already - I would think it's a non-problem.

• Thank you very much! Now I also installed the new version and seems that the bug is fixed. I am not an IT person, therefore your easy solution helps me a lot. Thanks!