Route or Track? Is there a difference?

HI everyone. This may be a dumb question......I'm fairly new to using my Etrex 20 which I bought after my wife told me I needed an alert signal to stop me wandering off course......She's only being kind after I did get a little lost in the Lake District last year......

Anyway, I wondered if there was a difference between a "Route" and a "Track"? I ask only because, fir the first time, I've plotted a simple walk in ViewRanger (now OutdoorActive) and it allows me to creat a GPX file which I've done. I've sent that to the Etrex 20, and it has appeared in "Tracks" whereas all other GPX files I've downloaded (all created by other people, thank you!) have gone into the "Route" folder.

I just wondered if there was a difference between the two and, if so, a) what are the differences and b) is one better than the other?

Thanks in advance of any replies!!

Mike

• One other type worth to mention is a "course". So we can have routes, tracks and courses.

Courses are not different from tracks. Except courses can have course points (the TBT directions you mention).

Course points are optional and you only get them from FIT and TCX files).

BaseCamp doesn't create course points. There are no "courses" in BaseCamp.

• Unfortunately because with Courses we can have both of the two worlds: a detailed Path (TrackPoints) and Warnings (TBT, POI or waypoints, etc).

I really don't understand why Garmin abandoned Basecamp and Training Center that did handled courses. 

Garmin Explore (WEB and Mobile) are terrible options.

You can not even export a set of waypoints from Basecamp and import them in the Explore because it messes with all icons...

The only way is to send directly to the device and them sync the device to Garmin Explore. DOing this way keeps the icons.

Regards,

• BaseCamp never supported course points

Most of the online course planners (like RWGPS and Garmin Connect) support course points.