Route or Track? Is there a difference?

HI everyone. This may be a dumb question......I'm fairly new to using my Etrex 20 which I bought after my wife told me I needed an alert signal to stop me wandering off course......She's only being kind after I did get a little lost in the Lake District last year......

Anyway, I wondered if there was a difference between a "Route" and a "Track"? I ask only because, fir the first time, I've plotted a simple walk in ViewRanger (now OutdoorActive) and it allows me to creat a GPX file which I've done. I've sent that to the Etrex 20, and it has appeared in "Tracks" whereas all other GPX files I've downloaded (all created by other people, thank you!) have gone into the "Route" folder.

I just wondered if there was a difference between the two and, if so, a) what are the differences and b) is one better than the other?

Thanks in advance of any replies!!

Mike

• Garmins take on Routes and Tracks is here:  https://support.garmin.com/en-US/?faq=v0rJAHy2hq3prHjRlxdRw5 but this omits the use of tracks to plan walks.

You can plan a walk either as a route or a track and either will be contained in a GPX file which you upload to your GPS receiver. You can therefore download someone else's GPX file which may contain a route or a track and before use, you should know which type you have as they are handled differently by your GPSr. 

A route contains a series of waypoints that are navigated in turn to take you along a walk, of which some or all will be alerting when such a route is being navigated using the GPS receiver (a bit like a car satnav). The non-alerting points are called shaping points, since that is all they do (they won't beep or display a turn arrow).