This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Replace Edge 25 Internal Battery?

Has anyone worn out the internal battery and replaced it? I've been using the 25 almost daily for the past 18 months and the low battery warning comes on about a half hour after a full charge when it's below freezing outside. Looks like the unit is sealed with four "star" screws for which I don't have the bit. I'd be willing to purchase that bit and a battery if the install procedure is straight forward.
  • I've just purchased the Edge 25 and still have to figure out how many hours I can use it while following routes and paired with an ANT+ sensor, but I wouldn't mind extending battery life at all.

I did a bit of searching and wondered if the following battery may fit in the Edge, even though it's slightly higher than the original with 4.3mm vs 3.15mm and a previous poster mentioned there's basically no room left. You'd think you could find 1mm somewhere...

http://eu.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Cornell-Dubilier/RJD2440/?qs=NaORKMxqSkyUpOQaZyVUog%3d%3d

150mah versus 110 should give a nice increase. If it fits...
  • Not sure the mouser battery fits, it is 1mm thicker and there is essentially no extra space.

The roginal battery is available from
    http://www.akku-wechsel.de/shop/catalogsearch/result/?q=+3%2C7+Volt+Li-Ion+Akku-Zelle+Route+JD+PD2430C1+mit+110mAh+Kapazit%C3%A4t+%2F+ersetzt+PD2430+
    3,7 Volt Li-Ion Akku-Zelle Route JD PD2430C1 mit 110mAh Kapazität / ersetzt PD2430
    for €19.90 incl shipping.

One has to remove packaing and the soldered-on leads with a knife or screwdriver. It then works nicely.
    Opening it and replacing the battery voids the warranty (mine is out of warranty).

Garmin offers an exchange of the whole unit for around £50 in the UK.
  • Hi there