This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Does Garmin still provide support for this watch?

Card payments do not work on this watch and never have. Despite repeated reports on here nothing is done.

The custom stride length is completely ignored and some random value used instead. I set a length of 91cm for a 10k run and it used 132cm. The stride length is basic functionality and renders the watch useless. I am a software developer and its hard to imagine a more trivial bug to fix.

Despite both these being long standing issues and  reported on here by others nothing is ever done. Has Garmin abandoned this watch?

• I'd say no, they have not abandoned it, considering that the latest FW update, 5.2, was released about two months ago. That they are or will be addressing some of the long-standing complaint is another story...

There is also the matter of not having a simple "Yes" as one of the pre-defined options when replying to a text from the watch. You would think that too is a trivial fix.

I personally do not use the payment feature, but I can definitely see how this can be maddeningly frustrating for those that would like to use it. I believe Garmin said from the get go that it won't work if the battery is below a certain threshold (probably due to the added power consumption), but I have seen here on the forum many complaints about not working or working erratically even with a fully charged battery or even worse freezing the watch.

The stride length issue is intriguing. I do have custom strides set for walking and running, but always assumed those values are used only when NOT using the Connected GPS (for example when an activity autostarts). I have compared the distance recorded by the watch through Connected GPS with a known distance or against a distance measured independently by an app on my phone and they have always been very close.