This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Edge Touring - new to Garmin - quirks - route calculation failed

Hi,

I have just got a Edge Touring (sorry could find a forum for the Touring)

As I am new to it, it might be just I am not using it in the best way :)

Several times now whilst following a route I have got the error message "route calculation failed"

At the moment I am only using it on local rides that I know, I thought it was failing because I had taken a slightly different route to the one I uploaded.  

But this morning I was on a new route, which I did not know well and so was sticking to the route.

It did it again, I stopped,  started the route again and let it do its calculation. However within a few mins it stopped again?

I had saved my home address in there, what did work well was it found my way home :)

At the moment I would be be confident to use it in an area I don't know. 

My rides are planed on my pc and exported as a gpx file.

The Unit is then connected to my pc and the ride file copied into Garmin - new file folder.

The times it has stopped working  I have not noticed any particular thing just before it packs up.

Sometimes it just stops, today the route guidance stopped, but the route was still displayed on the map.

I just wondered if anyone had any ideas, as I really like the unit and the way it works, but I do need to be confident its not going to let me down if I am leading a ride.

Thanks for any help or advice,

Alex   

• How recent are your maps ? Is Garmin still updating them ? you might try to download a map of your area from http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl/

Also check what type of route calculation you are using. Make sur it's set on Bike and not Car.

• Hi,

Thanks for getting back to me.